Tests 400G PAM4

Tests 400G PAM4

 

Surmonter les défis liés aux mesures 400G

La croissance mondiale rapide de l’informatique dans le cloud suscite une très forte demande pour une infrastructure de centre de données ultra-performante. Pour faire face à cette demande incessante, les développeurs migrent vers les technologies 400G pour mettre au point des solutions plus compactes, plus rapides et à coût par bit moindre.

Plusieurs technologies de base supportent 400G, notamment l’utilisation de taux de modulation d’ordre supérieur et de débits plus élevés jusqu’à 56 GBaud. Ce nouveau système de modulation permet une modulation d’amplitude impulsionnelle à quatre niveaux (PAM4), qui transmet deux bits par symbole, fournissant un débit deux fois plus élevé que le NRZ classique.

Les signaux PAM4, qui présentent un rapport signal/bruit inférieur et un tiers de l’amplitude d’un signal NRZ équivalent, nécessitent des outils et des fonctionnalités plus avancés pour une validation réussie.

Accélérer le développement des produits 400G

Développer des produits 400G est un vrai challenge. Des outils et des fonctionnalités plus sophistiqués sont nécessaires pour évaluer avec succès les signaux PAM4. La sonde optique de la gamme DPO7OE avec un oscilloscope en temps réel DPO70000 offrent des caractéristiques techniques supérieures et des fonctionnalités de débogage et de déclenchement permettant de résoudre efficacement les problèmes et de mesurer les signaux PAM4 jusqu’à 56 GBaud.

Les solutions temps réel de Tektronix vous offrent les moyens de valider efficacement vos progrès technologiques et de déboguer et valider rapidement la technologie 400G en complément du faible bruit d’un oscilloscope à échantillonnage.

Le passage de la technologie NRZ à PAM4 a accru la complexité des tests des signaux optiques.

Valider plus rapidement et augmenter le rendement

L’un des principaux défis est de limiter autant que possible le coût des tests par appareil tout en remplissant les spécifications requises. Les signaux PAM4 multipliant par plus de dix le nombre de tests à effectuer par rapport aux signaux NRZ, des solutions qui apportent rapidement des mesures pour un réglage optimisé, avec le minimum de bruit pour maximiser la productivité, sont nécessaires.

Les solutions d’échantillonnage Tektronix comprennent l’oscilloscope d’échantillonnage numérique DSA8300 et le module optique 80C20/21 qui offrent une bande passante plus large, une meilleure sensibilité et une durée de test plus courte lors des mises à l’essai jusqu’à 56 GBaud. Cette solution vous permet un bon équilibre entre les performances et les coûts de test.

La mesure du TDECQ montre toute la complexité des tests d’un signal PAM4.

Bibliothèque

Title
Optical Bandwidth Requirements for NRZ and PAM4 Signaling

Until recently, both optical and electrical bandwidth produced similar results but this is no longer the case with the recent IEEE spec change. This paper clarifies these terms, mathematically shows how they are related, and provides the basis to understand and confidently calculate optical and electrical bandwidth for an optical channel.

Téléchargements
Télécharger

Télécharger des manuels, des fiches techniques, des logiciels, etc. :

Go to top

400G PAM4 Testing

Fiber in 400G network

400G PAM4 Testing

 

Overcoming 400G measurement challenges

The rapid worldwide growth in cloud computing is driving massive demand for high-performance datacenter infrastructure. To keep pace with this relentless demand, developers are transitioning to 400G technologies enabling smaller, faster, lower cost-per-bit solutions.

There are several core technologies that are enabling 400G, including the use of higher order modulation and higher data rates up to 56 GBaud. This new modulation scheme provides four-level pulse amplitude modulation (PAM4), which transmits two bits per symbol, doubling the data rate compared to conventional NRZ.

PAM4 signals, having a lower signal-to-noise ratio and 1/3 of the amplitude of equivalent NRZ, require more advanced tools and features for successful validation.

Accelerate 400G product development

Developing 400G products is challenging. PAM4 signals require more sophisticated tools and features in order to evaluate them successfully. The DPO7OE series optical probe with a DPO70000 real-time scope provides superior features, trigger and debug capabilities to effectively troubleshoot and measure PAM4 signals up to 56 GBaud.

Tektronix Real-time solutions give you the ability to efficiently validate your technology advances and rapidly debug and validate 400G technology complementing the low-noise of a sampling oscilloscope.

Comparison of pulse amplitude modulation (PAM4) versus NRZ shows the increased complexity

The transition from NRZ to PAM4 has increased the complexity of testing optical signals.

Validate faster and increase yield

One of the greatest challenges is keeping test cost per device as low as possible while meeting required specifications. With PAM4 signals increasing the number of tests needed to conduct versus NRZ signals by a factor greater than 10, solutions providing measurements quickly for optimized tuning, with the lowest noise to maximize production yields are required.

The Tektronix sampling solutions include the DSA8300 and the 80C20/21 optical module to provide the highest bandwidth, highest sensitivity, and shortest test time when testing up to 56 GBaud. This solution enables you to effectively balance performance and testing costs.

TDECQ is one of the PAM4 measurements

The TDECQ measurement shows the testing complexity of a PAM4 signal.

Facing challenges in other wired communication applications?

Library

Title
Optical Bandwidth Requirements for NRZ and PAM4 Signaling

Until recently, both optical and electrical bandwidth produced similar results but this is no longer the case with the recent IEEE spec change. This paper clarifies these terms, mathematically shows how they are related, and provides the basis to understand and confidently calculate optical and electrical bandwidth for an optical channel.

Downloads
Download

Download Manuals, Datasheets, Software and more:

Go to top