Control Loop Analysis

Power supply design engineers need to ensure the stability of the closed loop response system of their Power supply designs to ensure the designs have sufficient margins to handle different load conditions before the feedback loop reaches the unstable state.

Designers need to change the connection of their setup from one test equipment to other and this is innovatively addressed by the Tektronix MSO5/6 series oscilloscope with built-in AFG and FRA suite in the 5/6-PWR Automated Power measurement and Analysis software. The Control Loop Analysis Kit combines powerful software and hardware that enables the most accurate characterization and optimizes your Power Supply designs.

Characterize:

  • Stability of the closed loop circuit with the measurement of Control Loop Response (BODE plot) with Gain Margin and Phase Margin measurements.
  • The performance of AC-DC and DC-DC converters with Power Supply Rejection Ration (PSRR) measurement.

Buy/Quote

Переход к универсальной схеме тестирования

bode_gain_phase_graph

Типичный график Боде, отображающий зависимость модуля и фазового сдвига от частоты и численное значение запаса устойчивости по модулю и фазе.

rejectionratio_vs_frequency

Типичный график зависимости коэффициента ослабления от частоты преобразователя постоянного напряжения в постоянное.

Задачей разработчиков систем электропитания является обеспечение работы замкнутых контуров обратной связи в устойчивой области при разных режимах нагрузки. Для измерения АЧХ системы электропитания в контур обратной связи необходимо подать заранее известный сигнал. Для этого можно воспользоваться опцией генератора произвольных сигналов/функций (AFG) осциллографа Серии 5/6. Прибор будет генерировать синусоидальные сигналы в заданном диапазоне частот. Можно также задействовать внешний генератор — осциллограф поддерживает генераторы функций Tektronix серии AFG31000. Тестовый сигнал от генератора AFG подаётся через низкоомный (5—10 Ом) измерительный резистор в контуре обратной связи, что исключает создание нежелательной нагрузки.

Изолирующий трансформатор с плоской АЧХ в широкой полосе частот подключается на измерительный резистор и изолирует заземлённый источник сигнала от источника питания. Полоса пропускания изолирующего трансформатора Picotest J2101A составляет от 10 Гц до 45 МГц, что хорошо согласуется с характеристиками опции генератора функций осциллографа MSO Серии 5/6. Для измерений напряжения на линейном регуляторе LDO (с малым падением напряжения) рекомендуются пассивные пробники с низкой ёмкостью и малым ослаблением, такие как TPP0502. Такая система позволяет выполнять измерения с чувствительностью по вертикали 500 мкВ/дел на MSO Серии 6 и 1 мВ/дел на MSO Серии 5.

Больше деталей при использовании специального программного модуля

2-blade-for-software

Чтобы исключить необходимость в нескольких системах тестирования, компания Tektronix разработала технологию измерения параметров схем управления и коэффициента подавления нестабильности питания (PSRR) на основе программного обеспечения, работающего на том же осциллографе, который используется для автоматических измерений характеристик источников питания. Это упрощённое решение помогает инженерам быстрее и эффективнее разрабатывать, проверять, подтверждать и тестировать новые устройства для ускорения их вывода на рынок.

Функция анализа АЧХ (FRA) в ПО для анализа источников питания на осциллографе поддерживает автоматическое тестирование, что значительно снижает вероятность человеческой ошибки, обеспечивает повторяемость, а также позволяет удовлетворить большинство потребностей разработчиков в измерениях за счёт единого решения на основе осциллографа.

Что представляет собой система PowerSol2?

Tek-Control-Loop-Analysis_SBG-new
  1. Осциллограф MSO Серии 5 / Осциллограф MSO Серии 6 — осциллограф высокого разрешения (12 бит) со встроенным генератором функций.
  2. Программное обеспечение 5/6-PWR — автоматические точные и повторяемые измерения характеристик источников питания для определения АЧХ схем управления (графиков Боде), измерения запаса устойчивости по модулю и фазе, коэффициента подавления нестабильности питания и импеданса.
  3. Два пробника TPP0502 — выпускаемые Tektronix пробники общего назначения с широкой полосой пропускания и улучшенными характеристиками, которые ранее были недоступны для продуктов такого класса. Именно пробники TPP0502 рекомендуются компанией для измерений АЧХ. Благодаря низкой входной ёмкости эти пробники уменьшают нагрузку на измеряемую цепь, которая может снизить точность измерений в цепях с очень малыми напряжениями. На практике точность измерений может быть даже выше, поскольку рекомендуемые пробники не изменяют сигналы, что может существенно повлиять на результаты.
  4. Рекомендуемые принадлежности Picotest: для измерений графиков Боде рекомендуется трансформатор Picotest J2100A (1 Гц—5 МГц) или J2101A (10 Hz—45 МГц), в зависимости от требуемой полосы пропускания. Для измерений коэффициента подавления нестабильности питания рекомендуется адаптер Picotest J2120A.

Control Loop Analysis

Control Loop Analysis

Power supply design engineers need to ensure the stability of the closed loop response system of their Power supply designs to ensure the designs have sufficient margins to handle different load conditions before the feedback loop reaches the unstable state.

Designers need to change the connection of their setup from one test equipment to other and this is innovatively addressed by the Tektronix MSO5/6 series oscilloscope with built-in AFG and FRA suite in the 5/6-PWR Automated Power measurement and Analysis software. The Control Loop Analysis Kit combines powerful software and hardware that enables the most accurate characterization and optimizes your Power Supply designs.

Characterize:

  • Stability of the closed loop circuit with the measurement of Control Loop Response (BODE plot) with Gain Margin and Phase Margin measurements.
  • The performance of AC-DC and DC-DC converters with Power Supply Rejection Ration (PSRR) measurement.

Buy/Quote

FRA-KIT

Eliminate the need for multiple test set-ups

bode_gain_phase_graph

Typical BODE plot plots phase and Gain values over frequency and calculate PM and GM.

rejectionratio_vs_frequency

Typical Rejection ratio Vs Frequency plot of a DC-DC converter.

Power design teams need to ensure their closed loop circuitry operates in stable region in varying load conditions. To measure the Frequency response of a power system a known signal must be injected into the feedback loop. For this measurement the Arbitrary/Function Generator (AFG) option in the 5/6 Series is used to generate sinewaves over a specified range of frequencies. One can also use an external generator, Tektronix AFG31000 series function generators are supported. The stimulus from the AFG is injected using a small (5-10Ω) injection resistor in its feedback loop so that it does not load the design.

An injection transformer with a flat response over a wide bandwidth is connected across the injection resistor and isolates the ground signal source from the power supply. The Picotest J2101A Injection Transformer has a range of 10Hz-45MHz which aligns well with the function generator option for the 5/6 Series MSO. Low capacitance, low attenuation passive probes such as the TPP0502 are recommended for the LDO voltage measurements. This enables measurements with vertical sensitivity of 500 µV/div on the 6 Series MSO, and 1 mV/div on the 5 Series MSO.

Get more visibility with your software

2-blade-for-software

To simplify the complexity of multiple test set-ups, Tektronix has enabled Control Loop and PSRR measurements by creating software that can run on the same oscilloscope used for automated Power measurements. This simplified solution enables design teams to design, verify, validate and test their designs effectively and faster thereby enabling ease of use and faster time to market.

The FRA capability in the Oscilloscope Power analysis software ensures the test is performed automatically which reduces human error dramatically, ensures repeatability and finally helps designers with one oscilloscope-based solution to complete majority of their measurement needs.

What’s in the FRA-KIT system?

Tek-Control-Loop-Analysis_SBG-new
  1. 5/6 Series MSO Oscilloscope - High resolution (12 bit) scope with built in Function Generator.
  2. 5/6-PWR software – Automated, accurate and repeatable power measurements for Control Loop response(BODE plot) -calculating gain and phase margin measurements, PSRR and Impedance measurement.
  3. Two TPP0502 – high-bandwidth, general-purpose probes from Tektronix that offer breakthrough specifications previously unrealized in this product class. With the recommended TPP0502 probes which are ideal for FRA measurements. With their low input capacitance these probes reduce the loading on the circuit which can hamper the measurement accuracy as we are dealing with very low voltage levels. We can expect better measurement accuracy as the recommended probes do not alter the signals, which otherwise may impact the results dramatically.
  4. Picotest has created an FRA bundle that enables the Tektronix 5/6 Series MSO to perform the Control Loop and Power Supply Rejection Ratio measurements. It includes the J2120A line injector for PSRR and the J2100A injection transformer for Bode plots and stability measurements. This bundle by Picotest, also includes the VRTS1.5 test/training board.

Buy/Quote

Downloads
Download

Download Manuals, Datasheets, Software and more:

Go to top